Mama don’t ‘low no music

Posted: October 5, 2012 in Boogie Woogie, Cow Cow Davenport, Cow Cow Davenport

Author: Cow Cow Davenport

Source: The Jazz Record, December 1944

______________________________________________________

“When I was a boy down in Alabama, the people who played music played only guitars. The guitars were carried swung on the neck with a long string, and people called them easy riders. My father didn’t like that idea of his son being an easy rider so he wouldn’t let me learn music. In those days the musicians had all the girls, and daddy despised it; so he didn’t allow me to play in his house. He had purchased a piano, though. My mother was pianist for a church they organized. My mother admired me because I could play, and my daddy hated me because I could play. He was going to make out of me what he wanted me to be, that was a pread1er. He sent me to Selma University, a Baptist college in Alabama.”

CONTINUE READING HERE

Leave a Reply

